Girls Just Want to Have Fun
As a young adult, you will have many new opportunities for recreational activities. Keep in mind, however, that there are legal limits, and some of them depend on your age. Information about topics like the drinking age can be found in other parts of this publication.
Depending on the type of boat, you may need to register your boat with the state to operate it legally. While there is no state law requiring a minimum age, proficiency exam, or personal watercraft, counties have the authority to enact restrictions. So, make sure you know the county regulations before you operate a boat. Within Idaho, currently, Benewah, Bonner, and Kootenai county have age restrictions for the operator of a boat.
As a boat operator, you are responsible for complying with all speed limits and right-of-way rules. You can be held responsible for any accidents. It is important to remember that, just like a car, it is illegal to operate a boat under the influence of alcohol. If a boat operator is intoxicated at the time of a fatal accident, he or she can be charged with manslaughter.
Fishing or Hunting
In Idaho, everyone must have a license to hunt and anyone over 14 must have a license to fish. In addition, you need a Certificate of Competence from a hunter safety training court to hunt. Idaho also offers a first-time hunter 1 year pass to anyone over the age of 8 to hunt with an adult mentor.
You must also have a tag, which is a special permit that can be purchased or granted through a lottery, to hunt any big game species; like dear or elk. It is illegal to use someone else’s hunting or fishing license, hunt or fish endangered species, or trespass on private property to hunt or fish. Failure to obey hunting and fishing laws could lead to fines, jail time, and revocation of your hunting or fishing privileges.
It is against the law for any initiation into a student organization, like a fraternity or sorority, to involve hazing. Hazing is something that causes or could cause bodily danger or physical harm, or that involves:
- Making a person to eat or drink anything
- Wearing or carrying obscene or heavy objects
- Physical assaults or offensive physical contact
- Boxing matches, excessive calisthenics, or other physical contests
- Transportation and abandonment
- Confinement to unreasonably small, unventilated, unsanitary, or unlighted areas
- Sleep deprivation
- Assignment of pranks
Anyone who participates in hazing could be jailed and fined up to $1,000.